Super Sunday Running

I had a great run today. I set out to do 5 miles, but got a little cocky and did 5.3 instead. I was partially inspired by my friend Bean’s achievements yesterday, running a very hilly 13.1 miles in beautiful Sedona. I figured if she could manage that course (check the elevation chart), I could probably conquer the itty bitty hills in my neighborhood. As I was running (sans iPod), I tried to make a mental list of interesting things I’ve seen on runs around Tucson in the last 3.5 years.

  • Coyotes
  • Javelina (During a 10K race, no less!)
  • Quail
  • Bunnies
  • Rogue dogs and cats
  • Rogue dogs chasing coyotes in a wash
  • Cows
  • Horses
  • Lizards
  • Drunk undergraduates
  • About a zillion bikers
  • Memorial to a body that was found dumped on my running route. (Interestingly enough, I missed the body itself only because I woke up that morning and decided to skip my run, which is kind of creepy.)

I have not seen a rattlesnake, which I’m kind of pissed about. But I do get nice mountain views and I have great running weather for much of the year… Except in summer when I flee to New York anyway. Overall, I should be grateful. Everyone who runs should be grateful that we have the ability, day to day, to head out the door and just go as far as our legs will take us.

Mountains

Nowhere else but here.

Leave a Reply

