More Trader Joe’s Finds

My last post on meat-free items I’d found at Trader Joe’s was a hit, so I thought I’d update you all with some more product reviews. I try to grab new items every time I go, so expect further updates in the future on what worked and what didn’t!

1. Low Fat Mocha European Style Yogurt

This tasty treat is not fat free, but at 130 calories and only 2 grams of fat, why not indulge? I use it as a low-calorie dessert–creamy, delicious, and chocolatey.

2. Salmon Burgers

I forgot to take a picture of this one, but I highly recommend the salmon burgers for those who eat fish. At $5.99 for a 4-pack, they are cheaper than the other fresh fish dishes that were on offer at my TJs and you get more servings per package. Plus, they are made from wild Alaska salmon, not farm-raised, so you get more of those good Omegas. The burgers are pre-formed and have seasonings, green onions, and breadcrumbs mixed in. They can be grilled, pan-cooked, or baked, but I should add that with pan cooking I had a hard time getting the internal temp to a recommended 145 degrees without overcooking the outside. If you are a food safety nut, consider grilling or baking. I served mine on wheat bread dressed with mayo and pickle slices. Yum!

3. Sweet and Tangy Almonds

These were a pleasant surprise! I bought them after I was unable to find the marcona almonds I posted about earlier. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but these are not overly spicy. As the package promises, they’re just tangy with the slight hint of spice. If you enjoy super-hot snacks, you may be disappointed, but these make a great on-the-go item, and unlike the marcona almonds they have no added oil.

4. Chocolate Filled French Toast

Is it true? Can it be? Yes, this is delicious as you think it is. When I tried a sample in-store, I knew I had to buy it. The outside is rich, crisp french toast, and the inside chocolate filling is much like what you’d find in a fresh chocolate croissant. Is it healthy? Not terribly. 280 calories and 12g fat per slice. You also only get two slices per box, and they need to be cooked in the oven. (There are microwave directions as well, but I’m wary of how these would turn out.) However, it’s chocolate french toast and you probably deserve it. I hear you’ve been working hard.

Thanks for tuning in to my reviews! As always, feel free to pass along any recommendations of yours. Maybe I’ll pick them up and review them on a future blog entry.

Leave a Reply

