The Best Stories I Didn’t Write

Well, the past week or so has been a bit of a rush for me. Lots of end-of-semester grading to do including a final exam, and I’ve also been finishing some dissertation and research writing. To break up the monotony of research and writing, I’ve been checking out some interesting stories online about my favorite topics. Here are a few I’d recommend to you:

Eat Vegan and Run–Scott Jurek and Steve Friedman for Runner’s World

Scott Jurek is an ultramarathon runner who discusses his running career and his journey toward the vegan lifestyle in his forthcoming book Eat & Run: My Unlikely Journey to Ultramarathon Greatness. The book won’t be out until June, but this piece in Runner’s World gives us a hint at what’s to come. Stay all the way to the end of the article for Scott’s nutritional advice and a couple of vegan recipes. Given my flirtation with veganism earlier this year, I’m intrigued by this story of a meat-loving guy who wound up embracing the meat-free lifestyle and accomplishing some amazing things along the way.

The Truth About Coconut Water–Yahoo! Health

I’m a huge fan of coconut water, though I recognize that not everyone is. I personally can’t stand fruit juice or any artificially fruit-flavored drinks, so Gatorade, etc., is not happening for me on long runs. Coconut water has been a real god-send to me. I put Zico Chocolate Coconut Water* in the water bottle on a long run and it provides me with calories and nutrients along the way. I believe coconut water helped me to reach my PR at the Lost Dutchman, since I didn’t have to stop for water or Gu along the way. Best of all, it’s also naturally flavored. This article shares some interesting facts about coconut water (including ways in which it doesn’t quite stack up to sports drinks). Sad to hear it’s not making me any younger, but I’ll keep drinking it anyway.

(*BTW, just found out that Zico is now majority-owned by Coca-Cola. Coke must have heard that there was one person in the world who didn’t buy any of their beverages and decided to get my money somehow. Rats.)

Wanna Run Fast? Run UphillMarc Bloom for Runner’s World

Speedwork: You hate it, I hate it, but we could probably manage for 10 seconds at a time… right?

Paralyzed Woman Finishes London Marathon–Nick Schiffrin for ABC News

Just… wow. A great story about perseverance and overcoming the odds. Makes me want to go out and run another three miles today. Clearly, I’m slacking!

Happy reading, everyone!

Leave a Reply

