10K Ready

I don’t have much to discuss right now, I guess. Being on “vacation” has made me a lot less enthusiastic about sitting down to blog! However, I do have a 10K approaching on Saturday and after today’s run I am very hopeful for a new PR. Really, anything under a 10:30/mi pace will do it for me. Just to give you an idea, here is a summary of my runs since I got back to New York:

  • 5/27: 5.8 @ 10:26/mi
  • 5/29: 3.5 @ 9:32/mi
  • 5/31: 3.2 @ 9:39/mi
  • 6/1: 3.1 @ 9:58/mi
  • 6/3: 5.8 @ 10:23/mi
  • 6/5: 4 @ 9:48/mi

That’s right, every run I’ve done in NY has been at a pace faster than my current PR pace for a 10K. Of course, the caveat is that I haven’t yet done a run of 6 miles or more. I’m not totally pleased about that, but the weather here in Rochester has been so lousy for the past couple of weeks that I’ve been forced to do my long runs on the treadmill… which shuts off after 60 minutes. Weak. Who invented that system, anyway? I guess this weekend will be the test of my endurance!

Leave a Reply

