Back on the Run… With a New Goal

The 4th of July is always bittersweet for me, because it’s come to mean the end of my summer visit to Rochester and a return to normally sweltering Tucson. Of course, imagine my surprise when I exited the TIA airport last night to find it a comfortable 73 degrees! Monsoon air is expected to keep us somewhere just below OMG-Hot levels for the next week or so, and I’m hopeful that means cool mornings and maybe sneaking in an outside run. After straining a tendon a few weeks ago, I’m happy to report that I’m back up and running 5K+ distances with no pain and no reduction in speed over pre-injury times. I’m bummed that my June mileage really tanked because of the issue, but it’s good to have a reminder to dial back on the mileage once in a while. This one could have been much, much worse.

So, I think it’s time for a new goal, don’t you? I’ve been thinking about doing a third half marathon for a long time now. I wanted to find something flat, inexpensive, and close to home… but after lots of research I decided to go big. You see, I’ve also been working my butt off on my dissertation and am planning to defend in the fall (essentially finishing my Ph.D., for all the laypersons out there). In addition to racing, I also wanted to plan a small trip in the December/January time frame to celebrate. Why not combine a new race with somewhere I’ve always wanted to go?

Yes, I paid my entry fee this morning for the 2013 Tinkerbell 1/2 Marathon at Disneyland and I’m super excited about it. Sure, the race is expensive ($150 is the early entry fee–and it’s already 85% sold out), but it’s hard to argue with the amazing reviews that last year’s event got and the super spiffy medal. Plus I’ve always wanted to really visit a Disney theme park. When you’re a teenager and your parents go to Disney World without you, you never forget. Never. And a girl only gets her Ph.D. once (or so I hope).

Only six months and 13.1 miles to go!

You probably won’t hear much about my training for this race until September or so, when temps here start cooling off for good and I can really get serious about miles. But, having a new training goal is already making me excited, even though I do still have to wait six months to race it. I may have to find some other (cheaper) goals to tide me over until January!

2 thoughts on “Back on the Run… With a New Goal

  1. Pingback: 20 Miles and August in Review | 31 to Life

  2. Pingback: 2012 in Review: Running « 31 to Life

Leave a Reply

