Eight is the Magic Number

Happy Wednesday to everyone out there in Internet-land. The past several days have been busy but productive for me, which I suppose is the most a grad student can hope for. My running goal this past weekend was to run 7.5-8.0 miles and to achieve a faster pace than last week. My long run two weekends ago was hindered by a bit of a late start, heat and humidity, and I think general burnout. I managed 7.6 miles at a 10:30/mi pace, but I knew I could do more this past Sunday. Let’s just say, goals met and exceeded:

  • Mile 1: 10:15
  • Mile 2: 10:07
  • Mile 3: 10:09
  • Mile 4: 10:07
  • Mile 5: 10:20
  • Mile 6: 10:23
  • Mile 7: 10:29
  • Mile 8: 10:35
  • Bonus .2 @ 10:10
  • Total: 8.2 @ 10:18/mi

I feel good overall about how Sunday’s run went, and it actually left me feeling that I could have gone a bit farther without, you know, dying. My plan is to reach a total of 20 miles this week, then to slow down next week.

A tasty reward

I celebrated this weekend’s achievement with a delicious mint chocolate chip gelato and a new pair of jeans. Since every pair of jeans I own is too large for me now, I figure it was time to break down and buy something suitable to wear before fall comes. Imagine my surprise and amusement at purchasing jeans in a size 4. Last Christmas I was wedging myself into a 12. It’s amazing how far I’ve come this year… and we’re only just 2/3 through!

Leave a Reply

