Race Recovery and Future Goals

Well, I’ve been recovering from the Arizona Half Marathon and I feel OK, though still a bit depleted. Earlier this week I also had a meeting with my dissertation committee and a big activity with my students, so it’s been a lot of living spread out over just a few days. I can, however, reflect on what worked well in my training for the race and what I’d like to do better in the future.

 

(If you’re interested, compare this with my race pics from February!)

  • Of my three half marathons, this was the first time that I did multiple 10+ mile runs. Many beginner half marathon plans recommend a single, 10-mile run as the longest run pre-race. Building to 12.1 this time really helped me prepare both physically and psychologically. It helped me prepare a good strategy for pacing, when to refuel with Gu and water, and just to get used to the impact of 2+ hours of running.
  • Before this race, I was also running four times a week which I’d never done before. My fourth (Friday) run was never more than 3 miles, but I think it really helped me get used to running on tired legs.
  • I’ve said it before, but swimming is great cross training. Swimming helped me think about form and posture.
  • What I wasn’t prepared for on this race were the hills. I thought the hills in my neighborhood and on the river path where I run would get me ready. I did meet my goal for this race, so I guess I can’t complain too much, but it’s obvious that I have no idea what a 100-foot hill looks like or how to climb one!

I don’t have much planned for the future as far as racing. I may or may not do the Dirty Six Mud Run in Phoenix later this month, depending on whether my co-workers manage to recruit enough people for a team. Next month, I am definitely doing the Girls on the Run 5K (an untimed fun run for the Girls on the Run program). I am not registered for any “serious” races until the Tinkerbell Half Marathon in California in January… but we’ll see. This is really when racing season ramps up in Southern Arizona, so I may be tempted to do something else. Or I may just do some fun hikes and take great pictures to share with you all. You’re welcome, people of the Internet!

One thought on “Race Recovery and Future Goals

Leave a Reply

