The Best Weekend Ever

It’s been about a week since I posted here, which mostly indicates how busy I’ve been! Last week and this coming week are the busiest time of the semester: Assignments due before Thanksgiving, people looking to wrap up projects before the end of the year, and tons of meetings. This weekend has been part work, part fun. Here’s a look at how things went.

Friday: On Friday, I presented some research at a homecoming weekend symposium. I was there all day but was rewarded with a prize for my efforts.

Saturday: Saturday I started off early by going to a homecoming party before the 11:30 football game, and then going to the game itself. This was my first time attending an Arizona football game in 4.5 years of living in Tucson. It was a lot of fun, mainly because we won by a big margin! Here are some pictures of the stadium, including the ongoing construction. It was a sunny day, but very cold temps for Tucson: highs only around 60.

By Saturday evening I was already tired, but I had promised a friend of mine that I’d go see a show she was helping out with on Saturday night, so I rallied. It turned out to be well worth it–not only did I have a great time, but I won a door prize!

Sunday: Today I got up early to do a 5K with the girls I’ve been coaching. It was dark and in the 40s when I got up–not an ideal day for running with 10- and 11-year-olds at all. But thanks to all the other volunteers and a lot of positive attitudes, we had a great time. I walked with the girls more often than running, but seeing them get their first running medals and watching them play together afterward made it all worthwhile. I’m sad that this marks the end of my coaching time with this group of girls, but I’m hopeful that the experience made a positive difference in their lives. I will definitely coach again in the spring, if my schedule permits. It turns out that not only do I love running, but I love sharing that experience with others.

 

One thought on “The Best Weekend Ever

  1. Pingback: “Fun” with Fives « 31 to Life

Leave a Reply

