Once in a While…

…it occurs to me that I could walk into the bar I used to go to any time and order a cheeseburger and a beer and they would give it to me for a nominal fee. Absolutely nothing prevents me from going back to who I used to be a year ago. When I am at home alone again, when a “friend” has cancelled plans with me again, when I wonder if I will ever be loved again, I very often miss the taste of a beer and a late night burger. Only my own willpower stands between me and this.

What holds us to the paths we choose, in the end, is almost nothing.

2 thoughts on “Once in a While…

  1. To thine own self be true….
    This is really all we have when broken down. It is also the only thing we have of value; all else is just ‘fluff’.
    I do appreciate your attitude; it’s hard on our own. I believe most of us have been there, done that; it’s not a good place to be. The only way I know of to get through is just that! Toughing it out (if we have the strength) guarantees another day, another chance, another possibility. No up-beat phrases will you hear from me; that is until you’ve ‘come through’ and then my tune plays a sweeter note…!

Leave a Reply

