Welcome to 2013

Happy New Year, everyone. I started off 2013 this evening with a cold first 5K, followed by a little reward.

Screen shot 2013-01-01 at 9.07.40 PM

So what am I looking for in 2013? I had a hard time making resolutions for this year, because I expect this to be a year of changes. Most of the things I left unaccomplished in 2012 were professional in nature: I am planning to finish my Ph.D. in May, and I hope to find an academic job in my field starting in the fall. So those are solid goals. In terms of running, I am definitely doing the Tinkerbell Half Marathon in a few weeks and the Zion Half Marathon in March. Last night I also registered for the Lost Dutchman 10K in February, which I ran last year and really enjoyed. In the first half of the year, I am also planning some work-related travel: To Honduras in March and San Francisco in April. So… yeah, a busy few months. Most of my other travel, running, and personal plans beyond May are contingent on what happens after graduation.

It’s exciting and scary to be facing such an uncertain time ahead, but I know I made a lot of personal progress in 2o12 and I’m confident I can keep those changes up moving forward. I already started the year off with a run and a morning of volunteering at the animal shelter, which seems like a good start.

Hope you all had a safe and happy holiday!

Leave a Reply

