The Second PR of 2013

Lost Dutchman 10K Medal 2012

Lost Dutchman 10K Medal 2012

Yeah, that happened in a totally unexpected way. I set a 10K PR on my long run yesterday. I started off feeling good and thinking about the Lost Dutchman 10K, which I’m running this upcoming weekend. I’ve been hoping to finish this race in under 1 hour, which I’ve managed to do on training runs several times before. However, the Lost Dutchman is pretty hilly (despite their claims that it is flat, it’s rolling all the way) and I’ve been kind of lazy about training in the past month. Anyway, I ran my first mile yesterday in 9:42 and just decided to keep pushing. I ended up hitting the 10K mark at 58:38, a new PR by just over 30 seconds. Then I immediately had to stop and remember how to breathe, then I ran about three more miles. Win.

Just a little sore today. Let’s hope I manage something similar next Sunday.

(By the way, I totally love the Lost Dutchman and I might shake someone down to get a full marathon medal… or at least to get a picture of one.)

4 thoughts on “The Second PR of 2013

  1. Pingback: The Lost Dutchman Races 2013 Race Report | 31 to Life

Leave a Reply

